Tutorial Thursday – How to Make a Rocker Card

Hi everyone, it’s Tutorial Thursday here at The Stamping Chef and for today’s recipe we’re going to be whipping up a rocker card. I love shaped cards and a rocker card is a free-standing card that rocks back and forth!!!!!

IMG_0930

Let’s get started, first here is your supply list:

2 sheets 12 x 12 paper for the card layers ( my card is an 8.5 inch card, the image you want to rock, various adhesives, decorations, and embellishments

IMG_0926

I chose today to color Sam from The Stamping Chef  which unfortunately has been retired, but you may use any of her wonderful images located at The Stamping Chef’s Store. I colored Sam using my Spectrum Noir Markers, Prisma Colored Pencils, and Gelly Pens. With my eyes, I color them first with the colored pencils with adding hi-lights with my Gelly Pens

IMG_0934

Next, I made using Make the Cut, an 8.5 inch circle along with a decorative 6.5 inch circle – these are the base for the rocker card

rocker circle for card scallop for rocker card

These circles are both folded in half and glued to one another for the card base.

IMG_0929

Sam looked like she would be sitting on something, thus I used my Cricut Heritage Cartridge and cut out the divan 3.75 inches with also using the blackout. The divan has an opening in the cushion where I sat Sam’s butt and did a little more fussy cutting around her legs making it look like she was sitting on the divan

IMG_0928

My sentiment, “rock my world” was written using my Sakura Micro #3 pen which gives the look of calligraphy

IMG_0927

Next comes the fun part, embellishing – I used pearls from Miriam’s Crafting Supplies for the buttons on the divan and of course, Sam just had to have a simple “diamond” in her ear

IMG_0933

Hope you enjoy today’s recipe and can’t wait to see on TSC Recipes FaceBook page your version of a rocker card!

Lynne, Sous Chef

4 thoughts on “Tutorial Thursday – How to Make a Rocker Card

Leave a Reply

